top of page

Check out our sponsors:

CONTACT US

TO ADVERTISE HERE

Like what we do? Support us through Patreon as low as $1 per month!

www.patreon.com/HazletonNews1

Country For A Cure - Possibly The Greatest Event In NEPA


First of all, we would like to say that anyone reading this NEEDS to share this amazing event.

The 3rd annual Country For A Cure, previously known as The Mayor's Dinner Dance, will be held on January 30th at the Freeland Event Center.

The event is a fundraiser which raises money for LOCAL families battling cancer.

From Tami Martin, event coordinator:

"We started this event 19 years ago when we lost Tim's dad to colon cancer.

We wanted to do something to help others during their battle. We always donated the money to the cancer society but after Tim himself passed, I realized that there are so many right in our own neighborhoods that need the help.

I made a promise I would continue this event until there was a cure found but I decided to donate ALL the money to local individuals to help illeviate some of the financial stress they will face. Weather it's used for co-pays on dr. Visits, gas to get to the appointments or medications, cancer takes a toll on a family that is only escalated by stress as to how they will pay for everything.

I don't ever want to hear that someone had to decide between heating their house during the cold winter months, or getting their prescriptions filled!

They say that one person cannot make a difference and they are right! This event takes nothing short of a small army to pull off and with the support of the community, WE HAVE made a difference!!!!!

Last year we helped 5 local families and I'm hoping this year to double that number. In 18 years this dinner dance along with the lantern launch held in October, we have raised and donated over $80,000.00.

To me that is a difference! I have lost my husband, my father, father in law and an uncle to this disease and also had an aunt and sister in law who were battling and are today in remission, so to me, this is very personal!!!!

I pray someday I can do this dinner dance as a celebration for a cure, but until that day comes, I will give everything I have to help those during their fight.

I read an article in the paper the other day of the 10 worst towns to live in, Hazleton area was on that list, although people see the bad in our area, I hope people see all the good here also. Anytime there is a benefit in our area, we come shining through."

The Schedule of Events is as Followed: Doors Open and Cocktail Hour: 5-6pm Dinner by J Paul B Catering: 6-7pm Music Master Entertainment: 5-7pm North of 40: 7pm-9:30pm Ostrich Hat: 9:30pm-Midnight All Raffles and Tricky Trays Will Go Off at 10:30pm Tickets will be available up until January 25, 2016 by calling/texting Tami Martin at 570-956-4940 or Amanda Semon at 570-956-9297. Table reservations, as always, will be available for any groups that are planning on attending. Those interested in coming just for the enertainment after dinner will be able to do so for a cover fee at 7pm. Anyone interested in donating anything for the raffles please contact event coordinators!


bottom of page